January 19, 2013

Monte-Carlo Historique: 5 belinettes to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Alpine-Renault’s one-two-three finish in 1973

PRESS RELEASE Press contacts Documents
  • Renault Classic to contest the Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique for third straight year.

  • The 2013 Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique provides a first class opportunity to celebrate the 40th anniversary of Alpine-Renault’s one-two-three finish on the real thing in 1973. That triumph, led by Jean-Claude Andruet and his lady co-driver ‘Biche’, paved the way for Alpine-Renault’s Manufacturers’ crown at the end of the inaugural World Rally Championship in 1973.

  • Five Alpine A110 Berlinettes have been entered by Team Renault Classic with a driver line-up that includes the winner of the 1973 Rallye Monte-Carlo, as well as Jean Ragnotti, Jean Vinatier and Alain Serpaggi.

  • This entry also celebrates the revival of the Alpine brand, as announced in November 2012.

  • The event starts on January 27 in Reims, France, and ends in Monaco on February 1.

Renault Classic will be out in force for the 16th Rallye Monte-Carlo Historique with a field of no fewer than five Alpine-Renault A110 Berlinettes.

The team’s start-studded crew line-up features:

- N°01: Jean-Vinatier / Jean-François Jacob (A110 1300)
- N°15: Carlos Tavares / Jean Pascal Dauce (A110 1300)
- N°18: Jean-Claude Andruet / ‘Biche’ (A110 1600S)
- N°21: Alain Serpaggi / Jean-Pierre Prévost (A110 1300)
- N°36: Jean Ragnotti / Francis Mercier (A110 1800 groupe 4)

Team Renault Classic’s five crews will start from Reims, France, on Sunday, January 27. The route visits French towns Valence and Gap en route to the finish in Monaco on February 1.

Renault’s participation in this event for the third year running is a fitting opportunity to celebrate the brand’s numerous wins and successes in 1973, including:

- Victory for Andruet/Biche on the Rallye Monte-Carlo.
- A one-two-three finish for Alpine-Renault on the Rallye Monte-Carlo.
- The World Rally Championship Manufacturers’ title for Alpine-Renault.

The participation of these five Berlinettes also coincides with Renault’s recent, long-awaited announcement of the Alpine brand’s revival last November.

About the drivers

Jean VINATIER (co-driver: Jean-François JACOB)
Jean Vinatier was Renault’s first factory driver. He drove for the make from 1964 until 1971 and his principal victories include the 1964 Tour de Corse in a Renault 8 Gordini. He also won the French Rally Championship in 1969 driving an Alpine A110.

- Record:

1953 - 1st Sport 500 class, Bol d’Or (Citroën 2CV Barquette)
1958 - 1st, Trophée Total
1959 - 1st touring car class, Rallye Côte d'Ivoire (Renault Dauphine), 2nd touring car class, Mille Miglia (Renault Dauphine)
1964 - 1st, Tour de Corse (Renault 8 Gordini)
1965 - 1st, Rallye Lyon-Charbonnières (Renault 8 Gordini), 2nd, San Marino Rally (Renault 8 Gordini)
1966 - 1st, Critérium des Cévennes (Alpine-Renault A110)
1967 - 1st in class, Le Mans 24 Hours (Alpine-Renault A210)
1968 - 1st, Coupe des Alpes, Critérium des Cévennes, Rallye du Vercors-Vivarais and Rally of Czechoslovakia (Alpine-Renault A110)
1969 - 1st, French Rally Championship (Alpine A110)

Carlos TAVARES (co-driver: Jean-Pascal DAUCE)
Carlos Tavares has been Renault’s Chief Operating Officer since 2011. His passion for motorsport goes back a long way  (for 30 years) and he is especially respectful of Alpine’s rich heritage. The presence of Carlos Tavares in the Team Renault Classic line-up, in a private capacity, will help to deepen his understanding of the Alpine brand’s DNA.

- Record

1997 - 1st, French Touring Car Championship (Class 2)
1998 - 1st, French Touring Car Championship (Class 2)
1999 - 6th, French Touring Car Championship (Class 1)
2000 - 2nd, French Touring Car Championship (Class B)
2001 - 3rd, French Touring Car Championship (Promotion category)
2002 - 2nd, French Circuit Racing Championship (Group A)
2003 - 2nd, French Circuit Racing Championship (Groups A and D)
2004 - 1st, French Circuit Racing Championship (Group A)
2005 - 1st, Modern V2V Sprint Championship (Group A)
2006 - 3rd, Euroboss Masters
2007 - 1st, Euroboss Masters
2008 - 4th, Euroboss Masters
2009 - 2nd, Euroboss Masters
2010 - 2nd, Euroboss Masters
2011 - 3rd, Boss GP Formula
2012 - 4th, Euro Boss Formula

Jean-Claude ANDRUET (co-driver: ‘BICHE’)
Jean-Claude Andruet jumped to fame after claiming the Critérium des Aspirants prize in 1965 driving a Renault 8 Gordini. The following year saw him compete in France’s ‘Coupe Gordini’ in addition to a programme of rallies and circuit races.

- Record:

1967 - Joined the Alpine-Renault factory team.
Competed chiefly behind the wheel of a 1300 GT and collected a number of top finishes and group wins in events like the Coupe des Alpes, Critérium des Cévennes and Rallye du Mont-Blanc, etc.
Winner of the Shell Challenge at the end of the season.
1968 - 1st, French Rally Championship, Tour de Corse, Rallye du Mont-Blanc, etc. (Alpine-Renault).
1st, - Le Mans 24 Hours ‘Performance Index’ with Jean-Pierre Nicolas (Alpine 1,000cc).
1970 - 1st, European Rally Championship.
1972 - 1st, Tour de Corse, Rallye Lyon-Charbonnières and Ronde Cévenole.
1973 - 1st, Rallye Monte-Carlo (Alpine Renault)
Part of Alpine-Renault’s World Rally Championship-winning team.

Alain SERPAGGI (co-driver: Jean-Pierre PREVOST)

- Record:

1970 - 4th, French Formula Renault Championship
1971 - 2nd, French Formula Renault Championship
1972 - 1st, European Formula 3 Championship (Alpine-Renault)
1973 - 2nd, French Formula 3 Championship
1974 - 1st, European 2-litre Prototype Drivers’ Championship (Alpine-Renault), 8th, Monza 1,000km (Ligier-Maserati) Formula 2 (ELF 2 BMW)
1975-1995 - Driver and development driver with Alpine
1985 - 1st, French Division 2 Rally Championship (Renault 5 Turbo Tour de Corse)

Plus participations in the Le Mans 24 Hours in 1968 (Alpine A210), 1969 (Alpine A210), 1973 (Ferrari Daytona), 1974 (Ligier-Maserati) and 1989 (ALD-Cosworth).

Jean RAGNOTTI (co-driver: Francis MERCIER)
Jean Ragnotti is a long-serving ambassador for Renault and is particularly loved by the public for the quality of his approach to motor sport.

- Record:

1969 - 1st in group, Tour de Corse
1970 - 2nd, French Rally Championship
1971 - 1st (Group 2), Rallye Monte-Carlo
1975 - 2nd, European Formula Renault Championship
1977 - 1st, French Rallycross Championship (Alpine A310 V6)
1978 - 2nd, Rallye Monte-Carlo (Group 2 R5 Alpine), 4th, Le Mans 24 Hours (Alpine A442)
1980 - 1st, French Rally Championship (R5 Alpine and R5 Turbo)
1981 - 1st, Rallye Monte-Carlo
1982 - 1st, Tour de Corse (R5 Turbo)
1982 - 1st, French Rally Championship (R5 Turbo)
1984 - 1st, French Rally Championship (R5 Turbo)
1985 - 1st, Tour de Corse, Ypres 24 Hours and Tour de France (Maxi 5 Turbo)
1987 - 2nd, Drivers’ World Rally Championship (R11 Turbo)
1988 - 1st, French Super Touring Car Championship (R21 Turbo 4x4)
1990 - 1st, French Group N Rally Championship (R5 GT Turbo)
1991 - 1st, French 2-litre/2WD Rally Championship
1992 - 2nd, French Rally Championship
1993 - 1st, French 2-litre Rally Championship
1994 - 1st, French 2-litre Rally Championship
1995 - 1st, Rallye Monte-Carlo (two-wheel drive class)

Renault thanks Elf, Michelin and Tissot, Renault Classic Team’s official partners.

Adoption of Wiztopic’s Blockchain Certification Platform

In order to safeguard its communication, Groupe Renault certifies its contents with Wiztrust since February 20, 2020. You can check the authenticity of our information on the website www.wiztrust.com.

Press contact

Find here our photos and videos folders corresponding to our latest news


About Groupe Renault

Find here our photos and videos folders corresponding to our latest news

To receive our news in real time, subscribe to our alerts and select your preferences.